Let me start this article with a link to an article by Andrew Brace.

http://www.dogworld.co.uk/product.php/117276/FCI%20to%20investigate%20selling%20of%20foreign%20champion%20titles

I’m with the secretariat behind this years 2015 Circuit Show. My initial reaction to this show was to cancel it first and foremost because the initial dates of the show coincided with the arrival of Pope Francis. I’m not a devout Catholic per se but I’m not going to organize much more hold an event that conflicts with the visit of the successor of Saint Peter. The initial argument was that traffic would be horrendous, blocking of hotels that are dog friendly for foreign and out of town exhibitors would be a problem as we would be competing with devotees coming to see the Pope.

I honestly believe that this was not the issue, the main issue was that this is the Pope period! Holding a dog show while the Pope was visiting the largest Catholic country in Asia was just plain and simple sacrilegious to me. My initial response was to cancel the show which quickly made the top two officers frown. I gave my point of view that I just mentioned and added holding the Circuit Show is just too costly. I told everyone that we had the best reason that the whole world would understand-the Pope was coming over to visit the only Catholic country in Asia. Here you have a Pope, coming to visit, a Pope that eschews luxury and the grandiose, and here we are spending millions for a dog show. I suggested that we do the Circuit Show every other year. I knew I was a lone voice again and would not get any support from anyone. Until Dinky decided to move it a week earlier and the Chair of Special Events made a commitment to save and cost cut. I still disagreed with this Circuit Show but since it would push through despite my consternation, I have decided to support this endeavor. After all we had the following weekend to reflect and examine our conscience amidst the blessings and presence of Pope Francis.

The simple and basic accommodations of the  leader of the Catholic Church. Photo from InterMirifica.net.

The simple and basic accommodations of the leader of the Catholic Church. Photo from InterMirifica.net.

As always, initial meetings turned into the usual issue of turfing, pissing matches and bullying. I had to set the record straight and raise my voice at one point that this was not about turfing but coming up with a successful and cost effective Circuit Show.

Fast forward to Tuesday, 4 days before the show. Some judge made a post at the Dog Show Judges Facebook Forum questioning the legality of our 2015 Circuit Show. This judge made assertions (innuendo and intrigue to me) that we were giving out more than the allowed CACs and that we were awarding championship titles from other countries (not allowed anymore, see link). This was obviously a post written either by someone who did not do any due diligence or is just dumb clueless. Dinky initially thought of ignoring it but eventually gave him a piece of his mind.

The Philippine Circuit Show probably doesn’t have the same stature as the big shows of the World but is quickly being renowned for it’s high fun factor in a beautiful country called the Philippines. Total entries are increasing as well as foreign entries. The show strictly follows FCI rules and guidelines, only Philippine Champion, Asia and the Pacific Champion and the ASEAN Champion titles will be at stake. Rest assured that everything is totally on the up and up which PCCI would not have any other way. I will still lobby to hold it every other year.

Hope you enjoy and to see you on our next! Mabuhay!

