Here is a very interesting article on ring procedure by Beverly Vics on how she judges a National Specialty. We have been taught that “…proper ring procedure gives you the image of knowing what you are doing while ring decorum gives you the image of looking and acting the part…”. To add to this we know that ring procedure basically should give the exhibitors and ring side audience an impression of a systematic and orderly process of evaluating each and every entry so they may have an idea on how we arrived at our decision. Ms Vic did more than this which gave her rave reviews for judging in this manner.

I basically, sort of have the same ring procedure. Once all the entries have entered the ring, lined up most probably by the length of the ring, stacked, I give a once over visually. Then I ask the first dog, in this case entry number 1, as arranged by number, to move to the center of the width of the ring, stacked alone. This is so everyone knows my attention is solely on this entry. My ring steward then moves the line-up forward. When I start examining the gait of entry number 1, the next entry or entry number 2 moves to the width of the ring to get stacked. When I am done examining the gait of entry number 1, the handler and the entry is told to go back at the end of the line. When all the dogs have been examined, entry number 1 gets to be at the start of the line.

I also agree with her regarding the issue of breaking a specials class into manageable sizes in the ring. Sometimes, maybe even often, a dog or two who didn’t make the cut in a previous group is way much better than all the entries in the next group. But breaking up the entries for BOB to manageable sizes is something that has been taught to us. Of course it is a possibility that nobody in a group gets chosen to make the cut but at times I’m sure we may feel a tad uncomfortable doing this. I arrange them as males, then females then my BOW. If it is possible to fit all of them in the ring safely even if it takes them to be around the whole ring then I will do it so I can get a visual once over of all of them together. Then they get broken up into a manageable size depending on what the ring dimension will allow. Then they get examined the way I previously described it.

Maybe I should do BOB a la the Beverly Vics technique.

Here is an excellent article, Bravo Beverly Vics!

http://www.thedogplace.org/Judges/Education/Judging-One-Dog_Vics.asp

