Allow me to answer some hypothetical questions with regard to your dog. Is your PCCI registered dog really purebred? My answer would be- in all probability it is purebred. Is it possible to have a really bad looking dog and still be purebred? Yes it is a possibility. Is it possible for a decent looking dog to actually be a non-purebred dog? Again yes this is a possibility.

Registering a litter is fairly simple, it begins with a registered sire and a registered dam, being registered would mean that some form of provenance can be done as to the background of the sire and dam. So where does the flaw of the system come in? It all begins with a devious mind whose bottom line is money or for someone who believes that his/her dog will have a better value if it had documentation.

There are different scenarios on how the system can be played with. I won’t discuss them anymore to avoid giving anyone any ideas.

I consider myself as having two chapters during my service with PCCI. The first chapter was when I was a PCCI director before my becoming a surgeon. During this chapter my preoccupation was organizing and running dog shows. I became chairman of the Show Committee, I would alternate with Glenn Friedlander as Show Chairman and Show Secretary for every show, we also would alternate as stewards. It was during this time that we introduced back to back shows. We also booked judges 2 years in advance. I would pick up judges at their hotel bring them to the show site, take them out for meals, bring them back to the hotel. It was difficult and I was told by Bobby Tesoro that this was a rite of passage for neophyte directors. I learned a lot from this the process of inviting a judge, booking their flight and where they would be billeted. Finding and negotiating a venue, getting in touch with a show vet and organizing and preparing logistics. I learned about show procedures and the point system. I digress, let me get back on topic.

My second chapter would be when I was already a Surgeon. I was invited again to be a PCCI director. This time I learned things through Bob Castanos. My focus was registration and rules. I learned the importance of the Stud Book and how it should be updated. We improved the rules on registration. We forgo with the litter ticket. I learned about basic accounting and internal controls through Bob. Ever since, registration has been my interest since this involves the bulk of the general membership.

Having said that. Rest assured that your documents are accurate as best as PCCI can maintain its accuracy. During my second chapter we would run after those selling PCCI documents, though we were never able to catch anyone I would like to believe we were able to have some chilling effect on these guys. We visited breeders who were suspected of being puppy millers. I remember visiting a puppy miller with Simon Sim and Jojo Rosales at some distant farm down east, we were able to ask the breeder to surrender the papers of some dogs that we believe were very very poor representatives of the breed. We convinced the breeder that his reputation was at stake if continued using these dogs for breeding and this argument made him realize things and surrender the documents of the concerned dogs.

So how can we fix things, this problem has been present since the formation of PCCI. Rumor has it that in the 70’s a particular pet shop in Cartimar had a pad of blank litter tickets.

From the buyers point of view-due diligence is important. Do not buy on impulse. Ask for a copy of whatever documentation they plan to handover to you so you can verify it with PCCI. You have to be more wary if you are buying from a pet shop or if sire and dam are not around for you to check. It really is a Caveat Empor Buyer Beware thing when buying a dog. Study the breed you want to buy, check on the background of the breeder. If you are looking for a companion dog or Pet or family dog consider rescuing. My two dogs right now a Belgian Malinois and a Doberman are from friends who were doing kennel reduction. I’m sure they are purebred but when they were given to me they did not include the papers.

For PCCI-I advised the creation of a registration committee which PCCI did create but I don’t know if they still have it. This committee is suppose to attend to anything having to do with registration. To make the system more efficient, to make things more accurate, to do spot checks on litters. Maybe we should consider printing our forms in house so we have better control, only of course if we can make this idea cost effective. Micro chipping should still be considered BUT as I always said the devil is in the detail. The IRR or implementing rules and regulation should be full proof. Or this will be doomed from the start. The ideal watch dog of breeders should be the breed club just like in some European countries. Unfortunately not all breeds back here have a breed club. I always suggested that spot checks should be done on kennels that breed several litters a year. A heavily used stud dog should get a visit from PCCI once in a while. It does not have to be done all the time. As long as breeders know that spot checks are being done this might create a chilling effect. PCCI really has to be pro-active in this matter in the absence of a breed club/breed warden.

I have read blogs that mentions how the blogger actually knows about members who falsify documentation and yet doesn’t do anything about it. A responsible PCCI member will inform the registration committee so it can be looked into or so that member can be flagged. We all have a responsibility to PCCI. You will be doing your part as a PCCI member when you inform them. Whether PCCI does something about it or not is another matter.

