My Parker III was a reliable ride. I was able to set it up with a weight of 30Lbs. The factory setting of the pro pedal at medium was adequate for spinning and the occassional out of the saddle pedaling during climbing and the occassional sprinting. I really don’t demand hardtail performance from a bike that wasn’t designed for cross country much more one that was actually designed for slope/dirt jumping. Maximum height I’ve done are trail drop offs of 4 feet height with a run off for landing and the Parker can easily hold it’s own at jumps of this type and height. I have been criticized that the Parker can do more and that I am not skilled enough to max out its potential. I am a 47 year old mtbiker and this is the most extreme I can do. I have read testimonies of jumps made with the Parker at heights of 10 feet and more but for my age all the jumping I can do is maybe a tad above 4 feet. Descending with speed at singletrack trails is easy, I would attribute this to the Parker IIIs 4 inch travel and 4 bar design but with its slope style length, it can be twitchy. The good thing about its short wheelbase is that it makes jumping through obstacles or to a different line easy. It feels like it has a low center of gravity that gives you confidence when going down the steep stuff from urban stairs to downhill trails even if the seatpost is at XC heights. On the other hand the handicap of the short wheelbase is when you are climbing, the front end tends to lighten up, probably part of the blame is my tall Fox Vanilla RLC Fork which makes my front end tall, probably a 4 inch stroke fork would be a better choice or a Talas.

