My commuter I recently acquired a Giant Great Journey that will be used for my regular commute. It is an 07 model that was basically made for touring. It is a 17 inch size with an RST air shock that is dedicated to the unit because it allows one to install a front pannier carrier to this suspension fork. The transmission is a Shimano Alivio 8 speed, with Tektro V-brakes. I installed a Shimano cage SPD pedals. Cockpit, I replaced the the flat bar with a Giant Al Racing riser, the stem with a 70mm length Giant Al Racing as well as the seatpost with an Giant Al Racing, I maintained the Giant saddle which was very comfortable. I also added a bell. The wheelset is a 36H Alex rimset, Shimano non-series hubs, thick 14G black spokes and shod with Kenda Kontact 26×1.75 commuters. I installed an old wire type Cateye Strada Cyclocomputer and a 5 Led Cateye tail light blinker. For the meantime I removed the front and rear panniers which really add to the weight. I haven’t weighed it but the weight is fairly manageable. The Jamis gets to take a backseat as I felt it really wasn’t a proper commuter. Now i can commute in my Dockers, a white Gap short sleeved polo shirt and my rubber soled wingtips.

