While cooling down from my Sunday jog at the Ateneo Campus in Loyola Heights, I was approached by someone who was taking his GSD (German Shepherd Dog) for a walk.

“You are Jojo Hosaka” he said.

“Yes Sir” I gasped as I tried to get my revolting middle aged respiratory and cardiovascular rate back to stable.

“You haven’t had an article for the Gazette for sometime now.” He asked.

“Yes Sir busy at work…blah…blah…” I answered which happens to be my favorite answer to queries about my absence from the canine community. Turns out that he was a upperclassman, interesting name he gave his GSD-Xavier. Atenista nga!

My second encounter of this kind was at Starbucks EDSA Shangrila at the 6th floor (shameless plug) during the Christmas holidays. I was nursing a Christmas blend latte, enjoying a biography of Mikhail Gorbachev that I just bought on sale, waiting for Cidette to finish her Christmas shopping.

“Excuse us Doc”

“Yes?” I answered as I peered over my glasses and saw a young couple.

“We love the articles that you write for the “Quarterly”, don’t you plan to write anymore?” they asked.

I gave a sheepish smile and said the usual too busy at work blah blah. I asked them to join me and gestured to the vacant couch across me. The couple added that it seems that what I wrote somehow always touched a nerve. “My Christmas Wish List” article asking for the creation of a committee that focused on registration was indeed formed. My article on microchipping that was censured eventually led to a review of this policy. We had a lively conversation on canine matters. After which we shook hands and greeted each other a Merry Christmas.

My third encounter of this kind was just this January. The frigid days of the metro made me crave for some good old comfort food so off I was to Masuki along Ortigas for some original mami and an order of siomai. My eyes caught the gaze of an elderly Chinese couple. As they were leaving the place they greeted me and said they enjoyed my articles and asked when was my next article coming out.

It seems as if I am blowing trumpets in my behalf by telling you of these experiences. Well kinda since they are definitely Mastercard moments for me considering I’m just a small time writer. Remembering these instances made me smile not just because it made me realize that people do read my articles but most of all it shows that there are people who care about the club. Now if only they would get involved.

Please click the canine category for other related posts.

